HCG dosage: IU chart, reported range and vial math
The FDA label for Novarel lists 500 to 1,000 USP units three times a week for three weeks, then twice a week, or 4,000 units three times a week, for male hypogonadotropic hypogonadism. To trigger ovulation it is 5,000 to 10,000 units once. HCG is an approved prescription drug in the US and Canada.
Legal status
US Approved, prescription
Canada Authorized, prescription
Checked 10 Oct 2026What is HCG?HCG dosage chart
Reported range, not a label doseThis vial is labelled in IU, so the doses are in IU too. Each row shows the volume to draw and the mark on a U-100 syringe. Syringe units are a volume mark, not IU.
| Dose | Volume | Syringe units | 0.3 mL syringe | 0.5 mL syringe | 1 mL syringe |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 500 IU | 0.10 mL | 10 units | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| 1,000 IU | 0.20 mL | 20 units | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| 2,000 IU | 0.40 mL | 40 units | No | Yes | Yes |
| 4,000 IU | 0.80 mL | 80 units | No | No | Yes |
Source Schedule from the FDA label for Novarel (chorionic gonadotropin), which lists these doses for selected cases of hypogonadotropic hypogonadism in males, given into a muscle. The 500 to 1,000 unit regimen drops to twice a week after three weeks; 4,000 units is followed by 2,000 units. Studies alongside testosterone used 125 to 500 IU every other day, which is not a label dose. Vial math is arithmetic.
If you add a different amount of water
The marked row is the one used above. Red cells are under 5 units or over 100.
| Water | Strength | 500 IU | 1,000 IU | 2,000 IU | 4,000 IU |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 mL | 5000 IU per mL | 10 units | 20 units | 40 units | 80 units |
| 2 mL | 2500 IU per mL | 20 units | 40 units | 80 units | 160 units |
| 3 mL | 1666.67 IU per mL | 30 units | 60 units | 120 units | 240 units |
How many doses are in the vial
Whole doses in one 5000 IU vial.
| Dose | Doses |
|---|---|
| 500 IU | 10 doses |
| 1,000 IU | 5 doses |
| 2,000 IU | 2 doses |
| 4,000 IU | 1 dose |
What HCG is
Human chorionic gonadotropin is a hormone made by the human placenta; the approved products are purified from the urine of pregnant women. Its action is nearly the same as that of luteinizing hormone (LH) from the pituitary. [1]
Other names: human chorionic gonadotropin, chorionic gonadotropin, human chorionic gonadotrophin, hCG, Novarel, Pregnyl.
How it has been given to people: injection into a muscle on the US labels; injection under the skin in published studies.
What to know before reading a dose
- The US labels say in capitals that HCG has not been shown to be effective for obesity and has no known effect on fat, appetite or hunger. A meta-analysis of 24 trials reached the same conclusion [5].
- The label doses are for three uses only: undescended testes in boys, selected cases of hypogonadotropic hypogonadism in males, and triggering ovulation in women pretreated with menotropins.
- Doses used alongside testosterone (125 to 500 IU every other day) come from published studies, not from a label.
- The US labels give the dose by injection into a muscle. Injection under the skin was studied [6], [7] but is not the labelled route.
- WADA Prohibited List 2026, section [2].2.1, lists chorionic gonadotrophin among testosterone-stimulating peptides prohibited in males [11].
- Ovidrel (choriogonadotropin alfa, 250 mcg) is a recombinant product dosed in micrograms. It is a different product and its dose does not convert from these IU figures.
- Units on the labels are USP units; published studies write IU.
Doses on record for HCG
Every dose below was given in a human study or printed on an approved label, and each links to its source. Doses set by body weight are left that way.
| From | Where it was used | Dose | How often | For how long | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Label | Novarel (US), selected cases of hypogonadotropic hypogonadism in males, lower regimen | 500 to 1,000 USP units | three times a week for three weeks, then twice a week for three weeks | 6 weeks | [1] |
| Label | Novarel (US), selected cases of hypogonadotropic hypogonadism in males, higher regimen | 4,000 USP units, then 2,000 USP units | three times a week | six to nine months at 4,000 units, then three months at 2,000 units | [1] |
| Label | Novarel (US), prepubertal cryptorchidism, one of four listed regimens | 4,000 USP units | three times a week | three weeks | [1] |
| Label | Novarel (US), prepubertal cryptorchidism, one of four listed regimens | 5,000 USP units | every second day | four injections | [1] |
| Label | Novarel (US), prepubertal cryptorchidism, one of four listed regimens | 500 USP units | three times a week | four to six weeks | [1] |
| Label | Novarel (US), induction of ovulation after menotropins | 5,000 to 10,000 USP units | once | single dose, one day after the last dose of menotropins | [1] |
| Human study | Randomized dose-response study of hCG given with testosterone enanthate 200 mg weekly (phase not stated in the abstract) | 125, 250 or 500 IU | every other day | 3 weeks | [3] |
| Human study | Retrospective record review of men on testosterone replacement who were also given hCG | 500 IU | every other day | mean follow-up 6.2 months | [4] |
| Human study | Two-year comparison of hCG plus hMG with pulsatile GnRH in men (phase not stated in the abstract) | 2000 IU, given with hMG 75 IU | three times a week | 2 years | [8] |
| Human study | Pharmacokinetic comparison of injection into a muscle and under the skin | 5,000 IU | single injection | single dose, followed for 144 hours | [7] |
| Human study | Randomized three-way crossover bioavailability study of Pregnyl | 5000 IU and 10,000 IU | single injection | single doses | [6] |
What the evidence shows
Each finding is tagged by the kind of study it comes from. Human trials are listed first.
In men whose own gonadotropins were shut down by testosterone, 250 IU of hCG every other day kept testosterone inside the testis near baseline and 500 IU took it above baseline. [3]
Without hCG, the same testosterone dose cut testosterone inside the testis by 94%. [3]
A meta-analysis of 8 controlled and 16 uncontrolled trials found no evidence that HCG works for obesity. [5]
In men with complete hypogonadotropic hypogonadism, 80% of those on hCG plus hMG produced sperm after 2 years, though sperm counts stayed low. [8]
A 5,000 IU injection under the skin raised testosterone as much as the same dose into a muscle. [7]
In a record review of 26 men on testosterone replacement plus 500 IU of hCG every other day, none lost all sperm. There was no comparison group. [4]
Side effects and warnings
Reported in human studies or on a label:
- Novarel label: headache, irritability, restlessness, depression, fatigue, swelling, early puberty, breast enlargement in males and pain where it is injected. [1]
- Allergic-type reactions, local and whole-body, have been reported: redness, hives, rash, swelling under the skin and shortness of breath. [1]
- Anaphylaxis has been reported with HCG products made from urine. [1]
- In the bioavailability study in 18 women the injection under the skin was described as well tolerated. [6]
From the label
- The label states in capitals that HCG has not been shown to work as an add-on treatment for obesity. [1]
- The label also states that it has no known effect on fat, appetite or hunger. [1]
- Not for anyone with early puberty, prostate cancer or another androgen-dependent tumor, or a past allergic reaction to HCG. [1]
- It may harm a fetus if given during pregnancy. [1]
- Used with menotropins for fertility, the main serious reactions are ovarian hyperstimulation, enlargement or rupture of ovarian cysts, multiple births and blood clots in arteries. [1]
- Because androgens can cause fluid retention, the label asks for caution in heart or kidney disease, epilepsy, migraine and asthma. [1]
- In boys treated for undescended testes it can bring on early puberty; the label says to stop if signs appear. [1]
- The diluent contains benzyl alcohol, which has been linked to a fatal syndrome in premature infants. [1]
- HCG can cross-react in lab tests for gonadotropins, mainly LH. [1]
Storage
Novarel (US): store the dry vial at room temperature, 20 to 25 C (68 to 77 F). After mixing with bacteriostatic water, refrigerate at 2 to 8 C (36 to 46 F) and use within 30 days. The Pregnyl label allows 60 days refrigerated after mixing and says not to freeze. [1]
HCG dosage questions
Is HCG approved in the US?
FDA approved. Drugs@FDA lists chorionic gonadotropin at prescription status from Ferring (Novarel), Organon (Pregnyl) and Fresenius Kabi.
Is HCG authorized in Canada?
Authorized by Health Canada. Pregnyl (Organon Canada) and Chorionic Gonadotropin for Injection, USP (Fresenius Kabi Canada) are listed as marketed, both as 10,000 unit vials.
What is the half-life of HCG?
About 32 to 33 hours after a single injection of 5,000 or 10,000 IU in 18 healthy women, the same by muscle or under the skin.
What does the Novarel (5,000 and 10,000 USP unit vials) label say about dose?
Into a muscle. Male hypogonadotropic hypogonadism: 500 to 1,000 USP units three times a week for three weeks, then the same dose twice a week for three weeks; or 4,000 units three times a week for six to nine months, then 2,000 units three times a week for three more months. Cryptorchidism: one of four regimens, from 500 units three times a week to 5,000 units every second day for four injections. Ovulation induction: 5,000 to 10,000 units once, one day after the last dose of menotropins.
Sources
Each one was opened on 10 Oct 2026 and matched to the line it supports.
- Novarel (chorionic gonadotropin) for injection, US prescribing information, Ferring Pharmaceuticals Inc., label version 41 2025-08-27. dailymed.nlm.nih.gov.
- Pregnyl (chorionic gonadotropin) for injection, US prescribing information, Organon LLC, label version 11 2025-12-02. dailymed.nlm.nih.gov.
- Coviello AD et al. Low-dose human chorionic gonadotropin maintains intratesticular testosterone in normal men with testosterone-induced gonadotropin suppression. J Clin Endocrinol Metab 2005. PubMed 15713727.
- Hsieh TC et al. Concomitant intramuscular human chorionic gonadotropin preserves spermatogenesis in men undergoing testosterone replacement therapy. J Urol 2013. PubMed 23260550.
- Lijesen GK et al. The effect of human chorionic gonadotropin (HCG) in the treatment of obesity by means of the Simeons therapy: a criteria-based meta-analysis. Br J Clin Pharmacol 1995. PubMed 8527285.
- Mannaerts BM et al. A randomized three-way cross-over study in healthy pituitary-suppressed women to compare the bioavailability of human chorionic gonadotrophin (Pregnyl) after intramuscular and subcutaneous administration. Hum Reprod 1998. PubMed 9688371.
- Saal W et al. Pharmacodynamics and pharmacokinetics after subcutaneous and intramuscular injection of human chorionic gonadotropin. Fertil Steril 1991. PubMed 1712735.
- Liu L et al. Two-year comparison of testicular responses to pulsatile gonadotropin-releasing hormone and exogenous gonadotropins from the inception of therapy in men with isolated hypogonadotropic hypogonadism. J Clin Endocrinol Metab 1988. PubMed 3142911.
- Drugs@FDA via openFDA: applications with active ingredient gonadotropin, chorionic US Food and Drug Administration. api.fda.gov.
- Health Canada Drug Product Database: products with active ingredient chorionic gonadotropin, with status lookups Health Canada. health-products.canada.ca.
- The Prohibited List (2026 list as shown on the WADA website) World Anti-Doping Agency. wada-ama.org.
Looked for and not found
- A label dose for use alongside testosterone or after an anabolic steroid cycle. No approved label covers either use. The 125 to 500 IU every other day figures come from two published studies [3], [4].
- A randomized trial of hCG for keeping sperm production during testosterone therapy with fertility as the endpoint. [3] measured testosterone inside the testis over 3 weeks; [4] is a record review of 26 men with no comparison group.
- A half-life figure on the US Novarel or Pregnyl labels. The 32 to 33 hour figure is from a study in women [6].
- Canadian product monographs were not opened. Label doses, warnings, side effects and storage in this file come from the US labels.
- A 5,000 unit human product marketed in Canada. The Drug Product Database lists only 10,000 unit vials from human drug companies as marketed [10].
- A current FDA or Health Canada statement on HCG sold for weight loss beyond the label wording. The regulators' consumer pages were not opened.
Change log
Related
PT-141 (bremelanotide) dosageKisspeptin-10 dosageGonadorelin dosageTestagen dosageHMG dosageWhat HCG isHormonal and sexual healthPeptide dosage chartDosage calculator
DosageFacts is an information site. It is not medical advice. Talk to a licensed professional before using any medication.